HIKING TOUR: DREI BRÜDER

Stolzkopf – Schaflkopf – Breitkopf

The Drei Brüder (Three Brothers) are the Stolzkopf, Schaflkopf and Breitkopf massifs. And it is these three that you'll conquer on this tour. What can you expect on this hike? Besides many challenges, you will also be rewarded with fantastic views of the Hohe Tauern and the Steineres Meer ("rocky sea") along the way.  This route can be done in two stages: either hike just until the Erlhofalm, or go for the complete crossing of the Three Brothers in a challenging half-day tour.  The drive from Kaprunerhof to the start of the route is roughly 15 minutes.  

 

  • Length: 10.78 km
  • Duration: 6 hours (ascent to Erholfalm: 1:45 hours)
  • Breitkopf: 2,220 m
  • Schaflkopf: 2,264 m
  • Stolzkopf: 2,120 m
  • Erlhofalm: 1,653 m
  • Heubergalm: 1,663 m
  • Difficulty: hard

Drei Brüder route description

Start: Oberreit village | car park at the barrier – forest road up through woods – up to the alpine meadow – turn left at the fork towards Erlhofalm – over the narrow meadow path to the saddle between the Breitkopf and Schalkopf – here begins the challenging section, no fear of heights – turn left towards the summit of the Breitkopf and then right in the direction of the Schaflkopf – continue to the Stolzkopf – head down to the Heubergscharte – via the forest road to the Heubergalm – lastly follow along the forest road to the junction at Erlhofalm and from from there return again to the car park.

The Erlhofalm and the Heubergalm alpine huts aren't publicly operated, but if you are lucky you may be able to get a great snack or a schnapps! (homemade, of course). Naturally, the schnapps tastes much better after your hike!

Bergtour: Drei Brüder

Stolzkopf – Schaflkopf – Breitkopf

Die Drei Brüder, das sind die drei Bergmassive Stolzkopf, Schaflkopf und Breitkopf. Und diese gilt es, bei dieser Bergtour zu erobern. Was dabei auf Sie wartet? Neben vielen Herausforderungen am Berg werden Sie vor allem mit einer traumhaften Aussicht auf die Hohen Tauern und auf das Steinerne Meer belohnt. Die Tour ist auf zwei Etappen Möglich: Entweder wandern Sie nur bis zur Erlhofalm oder Sie wagen die komplette Überquerung der Drei Brüder in einer anspruchsvollen Halbtagestour. Vom Kaprunerhof bis zum Startpunkt der Tour sind es lediglich 15 Minuten Fahrtzeit.

 

  • Länge: 10,78 km
  • Dauer: 6.Stunden (Aufstieg zur Erholfalm: 1:45 Stunden)
  • Breitkopf: 2.220 m
  • Schaflkopf: 2.264 m
  • Stolzkopf: 2.120 m
  • Erlhofalm: 1.653 m
  • Heubergalm: 1.663 m
  • Schwierigkeitsgrad: schwer

Die Wegbeschreibung der Bergtour über die Drei Brüder

Start: Feriendorf Oberreit | Parkplatz an der Schranke – Forstweg hinauf durch den Wald – bis zum Almengelände – an der Weggabelung links abbiegen zur Erlhofalm – über schmalen Wiesenpfad hinauf zum Sattel zwischen Breit- und Schaflkopf – hier beginnt der anspruchsvolle Weg, man sollte schwindelfrei sein – links Richtung Gipfel des Breitkopf und nach rechts Richtung Schaflkopf – weiter zum Stolzkopf – hinab zur Heubergscharte – über Forststraße zur Heubergalm – anschließend über den Forstweg zur Abzweigung Erlhofalm und von dort aus wieder zurück zum Parkplatz

Die Erlhofalm und die Heubergalm sind zwar nicht öffentlich bewirtet, aber wenn man Glück hat, kriegt man dort trotzdem eine super Jausn oder ein Schnapserl (aus eigener Erzeugung natürlich). Das Schnapserl genießt man aber besser erst nach der Wanderung!